Final space shuttle crewmates among three entering Astronaut Hall of Fame

An astronaut who launched on the first space shuttle to fly with a full crew and two crew members who flew on the last space shuttle to launch will be honored later this year for their contributions to the United States’ space program.

David Leestma, Sandy Magnus and Chris Ferguson were announced as the next class of U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame inductees on Tuesday (Feb. 15). The three veteran space travelers will formally enter the hall during a public ceremony to be held on June 11 under the display of the retired space shuttle Atlantis — an orbiter on which all three flew — at the Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex in Florida.